How to Kerning Group

luthfi_ef

How to Kerning Group

Post by luthfi_ef »

Hello, I'm a beginner on kerning and Kern On. Is there any fundamental guide how to group the whole glyphs? Or it works automatically?
Also, does Kern On work on numbers too? I have typed all the numbers and combinations, overall it looks good, but for the number 8 after applying Kern On the right and left side looks loose. I look small yellow rectangle at the bottom of 8, I'm not sure what sign of that.
Thank you so much!
Attachments
Screenshot 2023-04-10 at 07.45.36.png
Screenshot 2023-04-10 at 07.45.36.png (444.48 KiB) Viewed 2043 times
Tim Ahrens
Site Admin

Re: How to Kerning Group

Post by Tim Ahrens »

luthfi_ef wrote: 10 Apr 2023 Is there any fundamental guide how to group the whole glyphs? Or it works automatically?
While Kern On is running, there are no kerning groups, only glyph-glyph kerning. Also, only the currently visible pairs are autokerned on-the-fly. As you type in more text, Kern On will generate the necessary pairs.

Kerning groups are generated automatically when you finalize the kerning (i.e. after pushing the “Kern On” button).
luthfi_ef wrote: 10 Apr 2023 Also, does Kern On work on numbers too? I have typed all the numbers and combinations, overall it looks good, but for the number 8 after applying Kern On the right and left side looks loose.
In your example, Kern On thinks that /zero/eight needs positive kerning of at least +25, otherwise it would be tighter than /o/n. We are not seeing /o/n in your screenshot but I am sure Kern On is not completely wrong. Of course, you can try setting /zero/eight a little closer than +25 and see what happens. Maybe the kerning engine will re-adjust and allow your current /o/n and at the same time the tighter /zero/eight. Maybe it won’t, and you will have to remove one of them.
luthfi_ef wrote: 10 Apr 2023 I look small yellow rectangle at the bottom of 8, I'm not sure what sign of that.