Too many Independent Pairs, Missing Kerning

mckc

Too many Independent Pairs, Missing Kerning

Post by mckc »

First of all let me say that this is a phenomenal achievement. It's a super smart approach, a great foundation to simplify the kerning process and in some cases make to it even more precise.
I am brand new to KO, so maybe some of my questions stem from a lack of technical understanding. But as of now I am torn between taking it is a tool to actually fully kern my typefaces and, unfortunately, not using it.

I feel like KO tends to overkern some pairs. A lot of pairs don't even need kerning at all, especially in the lower case letters. When I set them to zero, they become "Independent" Pairs, and I end up with a lot of those "exceptions" where the process becomes more like the traditional, time-consuming kerning process. In the picture you can see that the "en" clearly doesn't need any kerning. Since KO doesn't allow me to take out the Kerning I end up with this. In the picture with the "lelel" you can see what KO's autokerning.
Maybe that's me being a traditionalist, thinking you should have as little kerning as possible, though. This is just one example of countless others. Maybe there should be a function like "Force to be a Model", where you tell KO that you know better and it applies the values to the other pairs from that Kerning Group. What I got from working with KO a few hours is that you should have as least Independent Pairs as possible to get a decent result. But too many times I just cannot accept KO's suggestions.