UcLc kerning glyphs set with 'no kerning'

7roy

UcLc kerning glyphs set with 'no kerning'

Post by 7roy »

Hi everyone, I'm new to KernOn, so I'm still in the newbie experimenting phase. I’ve kerned my Uc-Uc and Lc-Lc, setting my flat-sided glyphs to 'no kerning.' But now I see this causes problems for my Uc-Lc kerning. For example, my 'Wn' pair does not kern because the left side of my 'n' is set to 'no kerning'. I thought I would set this to Ind. and all would be fixed but when I 'Kern-On' it resets it to 'no kerning'. What am I doing wrong, or what should I be doing for these pairs?
Tim Ahrens
Site Admin

Re: UcLc kerning glyphs set with 'no kerning'

Post by Tim Ahrens »

You should definitely not set the left side of the /n to “No kerning” as there are many combinations with /n as the second glyph that require kerning.

I’d strongly advise against using “No kerning” for any letters.
7roy

Post by 7roy »

Thanks Tim
7roy

Post by 7roy »

Hey Tim, another newbie question for you.

I have a string showing HHBBHH. KernOn keeps telling me the right side bearing of my B is too tight so it kerns it away from the H by 7. Visually it’s now too loose to my eye, so I make a model pair and set it to zero. But now that affects my nn pair, which is also a model pair set to zero. So my next step is to set my BH pair as independent, but when I KernOn the BB pair does not pick up the same kern as my BH pair when both left side bearings and forms are identical. What am I supposed to do here?
7roy

Post by 7roy »

Another response I had: "Removed model status for ẞH as it is too tight compared to ẞD"
Tim Ahrens
Site Admin

Post by Tim Ahrens »

KernOn keeps telling me the right side bearing of my B is too tight so it kerns it away from the H by 7. Visually it’s now too loose to my eye, so I make a model pair and set it to zero.
Yes, that’s the way to go!
But now that affects my nn pair, which is also a model pair set to zero.